Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien, WA 98166

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien, WA 98166

You Are About To Leave the Highline Public Schools Website

You are now leaving the Highline website and will be redirected to a third-party application or website. This site may have advertisements or other content not necessarily endorsed or approved by Highline Public Schools. 

January is School Board Recognition Month: Thank You!

January is School Board Recognition Month: Thank You!

Thank You for Leading & Serving

January is School Board Recognition Month. Let's take this opportunity to thank our school board directors for dedicating their time to leading our schools.

Five board members are elected from our community to volunteer their time and energy to oversee our public schools. They help ensure we are keeping Our Promise: Every student in Highline Public Schools is known by name, strength and need, and graduates prepared for the future they choose.

The responsibilities of a school board are many, including adopting policy, monitoring progress and listening to community feedback. One important task school boards are charged with is hiring a new superintendent. Last year, our board invested many hours listening and asking questions as they oversaw an extensive community engagement plan to recruit and identify a new leader in Highline. This work culminated in the hiring of our new Superintendent Ivan Duran last summer.

Local school board members take on an incredibly impactful, and sometimes thankless role, usually in addition to their own full-time jobs. They attend school board meetings, in addition to other committee meetings, school visits and public celebrations. We deeply appreciate their commitment to serving our students, staff, families and community. 

School Board President & VP Elected

A special shout-out goes to our newly elected School Board President Joe Van and Vice President Angelica Alvarez. Both were elected in December and stepped into their new roles this week. Read more about our new board leaders.

Photo of 5 school board members

Our school board members are (left to right): Carrie Howell, district 4; President Joe Van, district 3; Vice President Angelica Alvarez, district 2; Aaron Garcia, district 1; and Azeb Hagos, district 5.

For more information about all members of the Highline School Board, visit our School Board webpage.

Search District News