Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien,WA 98166

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

School Board

The Highline Public Schools Board of Directors is made up of five elected members responsible for oversight and governance of the district's operation including the following areas: 

School Board Members

Vision: The board, with participation by the community, shall envision the future of the school district's educational program and formulate goals, define outcomes and set the course for the school district. This will be done within the context of racial, ethnic and religious diversity and with a commitment to educational excellence and equity for all students.

Structure: To achieve the vision, the board will establish a structure which reflects local circumstances and creates an environment designed to ensure all students the opportunity to attain their maximum potential through a sound organizational framework. This includes employing a superintendent, developing and approving policies, formulating budgets, setting high instructional and learning goals for staff and students, and nurturing a climate conducive to continuous improvement.

Accountability: The board's accountability to the community will include adopting a system of continuous assessment of all conditions affecting education, including assessments for measuring staff and student progress towards goals. The public will be kept informed about programs and progress. Staff and board training will be provided to ensure continuous improvement of student achievement.

Advocacy: The board shall serve as a key advocate on behalf of students and their schools. The board shall work to advance the community's vision for its schools, pursue the district's goals, encourage progress, energize systemic change, and ensure that students are treated as whole persons in a diverse society.

Communicating with the Board

If you would like to share feedback or a concern with the board, you are welcome to communicate with the entire board and the superintendent via email. While members of the community are welcome to email board members or the superintendent independently, the best way to ensure all board members simultaneously receive the same information is to use the email button below, which sends an email to all board members and the superintendent at once. All emails sent to the school board, or any district employee, are subject to public disclosure.

Email the Board

To address the School Board at a meeting, call the district office at 206.631.3070 by 12:00 p.m. on the day of the meeting in order to be included on the agenda. Scheduled speakers are allotted four minutes. Please see these protocols. for addressing the School Board.

Those who wish to address the Board, but have not called by the deadline may sign-up to speak during the Unscheduled Communication portion of the meeting.

For disability accommodations to attend the board meeting, please contact the school board office at least three working days in advance of the meeting.

Tyrone Curry Sr. 

Head Shot of Tyrone Curry Sr.

Term Expires 12/2019

District 1 

Angelica Alvarez - Vice President

Head Shot of Angelica Alvarez

Term Expires 12/2021

District 2 

Joe Van 

Head shot  Joe Van

Term Expires 12/2021

District 3

Bernie Dorsey - President

Head Shot of Bernie Dorsey

Term Expires 12/2019

District 4 

Fa'izah Bradford

Head shot of Faizah Bradford

Term Expires 12/2019

District 5