Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien,WA 98166

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

6th Grade in Middle School

boy and girl working at desk

6th grade moves up to middle school September 2019.

Highline's middle schools now serve 6th, 7th and 8th grade students, the most common middle school configuration in our state and nation. The opening of Glacier Middle School in SeaTac in fall 2019 provides capacity in our middle schools to add 6th grade.

In middle school, students have opportunities for higher level coursework, electives, arts, athletics and extracurricular activities they do not have in elementary school. With three years in middle school, students develop stronger relationships with their teachers and staff, in keeping with our promise to know every student by name, strength and need. Placing 6th grade in middle school supports our goals for students outlined in our strategic plan.

Family Meeting Information - Spring 2019

Spring 2019

Family Information Nights were held in January and February 2019 for all middle schools in Highline. Families of students in 5th and 6th grade attended meetings about moving up to middle school in the fall. A summary of the meeting presentations is available.



2015--Planning began in 2015 with community meetings and a 30-member committee of parents, teachers, counselors, paraeducators, principals and central office staff. 

2016--Transition plans paused until a bond to fund a new middle school passed in November 2016.

2018--Family meetings in each of the four service areas in spring 2018 continued the process of providing information to families and  feedback for staff to develop plans and determine details.

2019--Principals at each middle school held a second round of middle school information meetings in spring 2019 to provide detailed information for incoming 6th- and 7th-grade families.

Transition Committee

These are the senior district staff who served on the transition steering committee for the move of 6th grade to middle school in fall 2019. The committee was co-led by Diana Garcia, director of educational specification & transition planning and Julie Hunter, director of secondary initiatives.

Steering Committee Members

Capital projects 

Scott Logan, Chief Operations Officer

Inclusive Education 

Gaye Bungart, Director of Special Education
Rebekah Kim, Director - Instructional Support
Kristin Percy-Califf, Director, Language Learning

School culture & Climate

All Middle School Principals
Ben Guayan
, Executive Director - Instructional Leadership
Deborah Rumbaugh, Executive Director - Instructional Leadership
Jenniffer Reinig, Executive Director - Inclusive Education
Susanne Jerde, Chief Academic Officer
Kisa Hendrickson, Chief Engagement and Partnership Officer


Janet Blanford, Director of Secondary Success & College Readiness
Anne Arnold, Director of Pre-K And Elementary Success
Bernard Koontz, Executive Director - Language Learning and Teacher Development
Roberta McFarland, Director - Waskowitz Outdoor Education Center
Jami Haskin, Resource Manager, Assessment & Accountability


Phil Willenbrock, Director of Athletics

Human resources

Steve Grubb, Chief Talent Officer
Chris Larsen, Executive Director - Human Resources


Catherine Carbone Rogers, Chief Communications Officer

Safety and Security

Randy Body, Director of Safety & Security

Business services

Jackie Bryan, Director of Budget

News Updates

Contact Information

Diana Garcia
Director of Educational Specifications & Transition Planning