Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien, WA 98166

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien, WA 98166

You Are About To Leave the Highline Public Schools Website

You are now leaving the Highline website and will be redirected to a third-party application or website. This site may have advertisements or other content not necessarily endorsed or approved by Highline Public Schools. 

Tyee Groundbreaking Celebrates Start of New School Construction

Tyee Groundbreaking Celebrates Start of New School Construction

Tyee Supporters of All Ages Enjoy Groundbreaking Ceremony

Photo of large group of speakers holding shovels at Tyee Groundbreaking.

The Tyee High School village wore their hearts on their sleeves to celebrate on August 18! The Groundbreaking Ceremony marked the beginning of the construction project for a new state-of-the-art high school in SeaTac!

What a heartwarming, joyful afternoon with elected officials, alumni, school leaders, staff, students, families, construction and labor partners... and a free ice cream truck! Vanir Construction Management provided the ice cream treats.

Event mementos included a commemorative card with old and new school images from Integrus Architecture, and pieces of the cafeteria stage floor from the old school. 

A project banner featuring a rendering of the new high school design hung from the old football field goal posts as the backdrop to the groundbreaking ceremony.

Speakers included:

  • Donny Stevenson, Honorable Council Vice Chairman, Muckleshoot Indian Tribe
  • Victoria Terry, Principal, Tyee High School
  • Jurnee Robinson, Past ASB president & 11th Grade Student, Tyee High School
  • Scott Logan, Highline Chief Operations Officer
  • Monty Anderson, Executive Secretary, Seattle Building & Construction Trades Council
  • Dr. Ivan Duran, Superintendent
  • Azeb Hagos, Carrie Howell, Aaron Garcia Virgen and Joe Van, School Board Members
  • Adam Smith, U.S. Representative
  • Dave Upthegrove, Councilmember, King County
  • Iris Guzman and Senayet Negusse, Councilmembers, City of SeaTac
  • Robin Adams, Alumnus & Representative, Friends of Tyee
  • Kyla Blair, Past Chair, Yes for Highline
  • Ellie Daneshnia, Executive Director, Capital Planning & Construction
  • Amy Vanderhorst, Principal Architect, Integrus
  • Darnell Cola, Vice President & Area Manager, Vanir Construction Management
  • Curt Gimmestad, Vice President Industry Engagement, Absher Construction Company

Thank you to everyone who joined us in the hot sun to celebrate what SeaTac and the entire Highline community can accomplish when we work together to keep our Highline Promise to our students — our future!


An album of additional Tyee Groundbreaking event photos is available on Facebook.